It’s no secret I am a junk food junkie. I love eating sweets. This might catch up to me soon enough seeing as how I’m in my 40’s these days. In any case, I recently googled up bakeries selling macarons. Some locations listed cannolis too. I was reminded how Silas had just closed ((RIP Silas)); now I needed a place for some good cannoli yums. I also need to find places that make gooood macaron.

I got a lead on a place in Hamtramck for those. Now I’ve started browsing the bakeries for cannolis. Cuz let’s be honest fam. All cannoli are not made equal. The fillung is the critical element here. If the cream isn’t soft amd delectable, it just won’t do for me. I need it to be illustrous. I like a good foodgasm going on with my tastebuds.

 

Enter the first stop on this bakery exploration. Mia’s Bakery in Clawson on W 14 mile rd.

 

 

This box had one large and one mini cannoli plus a few tiny macaron. I was pretty excited to have scored both of my favorites. The macaron was ok but only the lemon was worth getting the least excited for.

The cannnoli was trying, but the chocolate chips were too many for my liking. I also prefer a softer filling.

 

Stop two this week was todat at an Italian bakery in Sterling Heights at 17 and Ryan called Manninos. Their bakery specializes in wedding cakes, but they also offer lots of traditional favorites. Their flavor offerings were unbelievable.

20180307_160600.jpg

Top left was a red velvet cake pop. It had red velvet and chocolate ganache. Top right the cannoli which had super fab cream. Their cream was pratically a mouse or custard texture. The flavor was dead on though. I think getting one here fresh in the morning would be the bees knees.

Bottom row: strawberry cheesecake, regular cheesecake, and a baby bumpy. The baby bumpy was the real stand out purchase. If you like Hostess cupcakes, you would lime this. Rich chocolate and soft cake delight for sure. I hope to retyrn to try the other bumpy cups.

 

If you know of a great bakery in metro Detroit that makes a great cannoli; drop me a name and location. I will add them to a list of bakeries to hit up. Please note I hate coconut and am not fond of too much nuts. In fact only nuts.I eat are peanuts and sometimes almonds.